Awards & Recognition

Each year, the University of Toronto Scarborough (UTSC) acknowledges and celebrates outstanding members of our community who have been nominated for:

UTSC Principal's Service Excellence Awards

Nomination deadline: August 27, 2021

Please see the attached Awards Comparison Chart for the differences between these awards.

Campus Awards

Nomination deadline: August 27, 2021

Research Awards

Nomination deadline: February 3, 2021

Teaching Awards

Nomination deadline: May 7, 2021 (UPDATED)

We invite you to learn more about the awards by clicking on the links above. Please consider nominating a deserving faculty, staff, TA or student for the appropriate award.

The award recipients will be formally recognized at the annual Celebration of Distinguished Services event (TBD). Stay tuned for more details.

Frequently Asked Questions about Awards & Recognition

Will the annual Celebration of Distinguished Services take place in 2021?

The health, safety and well-being of our community members is very important to us; therefore, due to our current circumstances with COVID, the Celebration of Distinguished Services annual event and BBQ has been postponed until it is safe to gather in-person. We will however, find ways to celebrate members of our community in other ways.

Can I nominate an individual for more than one award?

Yes, you may, providing the candidate is eligible for each of the awards they are being nominated for. For eligibility requirements, click on each award on the main page.

Should the nominee be informed that I am nominating them?

This is solely up to you as the nominator.

Are self-nominations accepted?

Self-nominations are not accepted. Packages that contain a nomination letter written by the nominee, or a package submitted or compiled by the nominee constitute a self-nomination.  

Are there any team awards?

Yes, there is. Individual and team nominations are accepted for the D.R. Campbell Merit Award.

Can I resubmit a nomination package that was submitted in the past but was not chosen?

Yes, you may re-submit a nomination package providing all relevant information has been updated including the candidate's most recent accomplishments.

Who sits on the selection committees for the awards?

There will be two Selection Committees, one for the Principal's Service Excellence Awards and one for the D.R. Campbell Merit Award and Patrick Phillips Award for Staff Service. These Selection Committees will be made up of representatives from the various constituencies including faculty, staff and students. A call for participation on the Selection Committee will be sent out on an annual basis.   

For more details about the Selection Committee, please contact:
Human Resource Services at for the Principal's Service Excellence Awards
Kathryn Millard at for both the D.R. Campbell Merit Award and Patrick Phillips Award for Staff Service

Will awards be given out every year?

The awards may not be presented every year and is dependent on the submissions received.

Is there a monetary component to the awards?

No, there are no monetary components to the awards. All winners are recognized with a framed certificate and celebrated at the annual Celebration of Distinguished Services.

Are past award recipients eligible to be nominated for future Principal’s Service Excellence Awards?

Winners of the Principal's Service Excellence Awards will not be eligible for future awards in the Distinguished, Accomplished and Emerging categories. Past award recipients of the Inclusive Excellence Service Award are eligible for nomination again after four (4) years. 

Can individuals endorse more than one (1) person for the Principal's Service Excellence Awards?

Individuals are open to endorse more than one person for the Principal's Service Excellence Awards. 

Can the support letter for the awards, be from a staff member from another division of the University?

It would depend on who the nominator would be. If the nominator is a department manager/leader/director/chair, then the support letter can be from another division. If the nominator is a colleague of the nominee, then typically we see the support letter coming in from the department’s head.

I want to recognize a peer for their contributions and service with respect to COVID-19, but they do not fall under any of the award categories listed above, where can I nominate, acknowledge, and recognize them?

Faculty and staff can recognize their colleagues for their contributions and service through the True Blue Recognition Program. True Blue informal recognitions highlight the practices of exemplary faculty and staff who make invaluable contributions to the University every day. For more information about the True Blue Recognition Program, please visit their website here.   


Has COVID impacted the timelines for the nomination period for the 2021 Principal’s Service Excellence Awards and Administrative Awards?

Now more than ever, UTSC owes a special debt of gratitude to those who have contributed to the growth and success of the campus. We recognize the importance of promoting and supporting a culture of leadership that is bold, empathetic, shared, transparent, inclusive, and transformational.

Keeping the wellbeing of our community top of mind, we have opted to postpone the launch of the nomination period for the Principal’s Service Excellence Awards, D.R. Campbell Merit Award, and Patrick Phillips Award for Staff Service to June 7th, 2021, with a deadline for nominations on August 6th, 2021 at 5:00PM. This will provide ample time for nominators to assemble packages over the summer as opposed to the winter/spring when they are managing multiple processes.

We look forward to celebrating our 2021 award winners virtually this fall.

Who can I contact if I have a question about an award?

For the Principal's Service Excellence Awards, contact Human Resource Services at For the Patrick Phillips and/or D.R. Campbell, contact Kathryn Millard at