Selection Committees for the Awards

In alignment with the campus’s commitment to Inclusive Excellence, we are pleased to announce that we will be accepting applications from members of our internal community to serve on the Awards Selection Committees for the Principal’s Service Excellence Awards, the D.R. Campbell Merit Award  and the Patrick Phillips Awards for Staff Service. We encourage you to submit an application to serve on one of these important committees. Details can be found below.


Principal's Service Excellence Awards

The Principal’s Service Excellence Awards are the newly revamped Principal’s Staff Awards which were established in 2016 to recognize and celebrate the outstanding contributions of administrative staff who consistently demonstrate excellent performance in support of UTSC strategic priorities and objectives.

Positions # of Seats Available
Co-chairs selected from below: 2
Administrative Staff or Faculty Representative 5


D.R. Campbell Merit Award and Patrick Phillips Award for Staff Service

The D.R. Campbell Merit Award is presented for “outstanding contribution” which is deemed to mean: dedicated service to UTSC beyond the person’s normal role and/or initiation and development of a new UTSC program, facility, event, or publication.

The Patrick Phillips Award for Staff Service is awarded each year to a deserving staff member who displays competence, commitment, courtesy and concern for others routinely; who without fanfare or self-promotion, contributes daily to the success of the campus.

Contact:  for more information 

D.R. Campbell Merit & Patrick Phillips Awards Selection Committee Composition  
Positions # of Seats Available
Co-chairs selected from the list below: 2
Administrative Staff Representative 2
Faculty Representative 1
SCSU Student Representative 1


Additional Information

Membership will reflect the constituencies identified above, as well as appropriateness to avoid conflict of interest between the selection and committee members and nominees i.e. selection committee members cannot be nominated, nominate, or support nominations for any of the above awards.

Membership may be varied to ensure balance of expertise and other forms of representation to ensure diversity of portfolios across campus is reflected.

The time commitment for serving on either of the Awards Selection Committees will be a few hours to review the nomination packages on your own time and 2 hours for the Selection Committee Meeting in June 2024.

Please submit your application containing the following details with a brief rationale for your interest in serving on the committees:


Please indicate which selection committee you wish to apply for