Alumni & Friends - Ways to get involved and give back

UTSC Teaching Awards

The UTSC Teaching Awards honour teaching excellence. The deadline for nominations is early May. 

Award categories and guidelines: 

Associate and Full Professors Teaching Award

Assistant Professors and Lecturers Teaching Award

Unit 3 Sessional Lecturers Teaching Award

Unit 1 Course Instructors Teaching Award

Sessional Instructional Assistants Award

Graduate Teaching Assistants Award

Undergraduate Teaching Assistants Award

Individual Consultations and Workshops 

Prof. Karen McCrindle, Associate Dean, Teaching and Learning, and Director, CTL, supports departments, nominators and nominees on the preparation of nomination packages. Workshops are scheduled throughout the year, and individual consultations are available. Please contact Prof. McCrindle at


Prof. Katie Larson, Vice-Dean Teaching, Learning and Undergraduate Programs, oversees the adjudication process and chairs the adjudication committee. For more information, visit or contact

Profiles of Award Recipients 

The following educators were named 2020 UTSC Teaching Award recipients for their highly distinguished teaching accomplishments or for displaying exceptional teaching promise. 

Prof. Ahmed Allahwala (Associate and Full Professors Award)

Prof. Suzanne Sicchia (Assistant Professors and Lecturers Award)

Prof. Heidi Daxberger (Assistant Professors and Lecturers Award)

Prof. Jason Brown (Assistant Professors and Lecturers Award)

Stuart Livingstone (Unit 3 Sessional Lecturers)

Igor Shoikhedbrod (Unit 1 Course Instructor)

Natashya Falcone (Graduate Teaching Assistant)

Nadiya Subdar (Graduate Teaching Assistant)

Eliana Vonapartis (Graduate Teaching Assistant)

Please read the 2020 profiles.


Tri-Campus Teaching Awards

Read about tri-campus teaching awards here: