Equity Matters

Seminars and online resources are available, through the Office of the Vice-Principal Academic & Dean and Vice-Dean Faculty Affairs, Equity & Success to support an inclusive environment at U of T Scarborough. Please contact Eileen Egan-Lee, Faculty Development Administrator, with any questions about program offerings.

Previously offered in the Equity Matters Seminar Series-
  • Equity Matters - Seminar & Discussion with Professor Imogen Coe, Dean of the Faculty of Science at Ryerson University (2012-2018); January 2019

  • Beyond Contested Diversities: Intersectional Equity Matters at Canadian Universities - Professor Malinda Smith, Pierre Elliot Trudeau Fellow; Provost Fellow, University of Alberta; October 2018

  • Finding Ways to Honour the Trailblazing Women of the Past & Future – Elly Zupko, communications specialist, founder of SMLX Good; 2017



Equity Matters - October 17, 2020 - Strongly Committed to Diversity

Professor Carl James - “Strongly committed to diversity”

Equity Seminars for Faculty, Staff, Graduate Students & Postdoctoral Fellows

"Representation at U of T: Are we turning the TIDE?" Equity Matters Seminar & Discussion with Maydianne Andrade - February 19, 10am-1pm - Catalyst Centre, EV151/152

Please join us for the next Equity Matters Seminar as Vice-Dean Faculty Affairs & Equity Maydianne Andrade discusses some of the challenges to the hiring and retention of diverse people in the academy, and reviews programs at U of T aimed at ensuring equitable representation (19 February, 10 – 1pm).  After the talk, join us for lunch and a panel discussion on learnings from the series to date within our local context, and importantly: where do we go from here?  Faculty, staff, graduate students and postdoctoral fellows are welcome to attend. A light lunch will be served. Register.

Seminars & Discussion provide an opportunity for the U of T Scarborough community to engage with prominent speakers on issues of equity in academia.  Seminars are open to faculty, graduate students, postdoctoral fellows and staff.