Music & Culture

Why study Music at UTSC?

• The Music and Culture Program at UTSC encourages students to combine their music studies with a Major or Minor from other ACM programs and/or with other departments (I.e.: Music and Arts Management; Music and Journalism; Music and Mental Health Studies; Music and Neuroscience; Music and Psychology; etc.)

• Our students enjoy the flexibility of choosing from a wide range of performance and classroom activities, as well as experiential education opportunities including concert performance, masterclasses with critically acclaimed visiting professional musicians, and in-the-field observation and engagement with through service learning

• Our program sets our students up for success through musical knowledge and skill development, leading them toward innovative career paths and opportunities

• We offer a unique approach consisting of three areas of focus: Music and Society, Community Music, and Music Creativity and Technology; our students are encouraged to develop depth of learning through focused study in a combination of these areas

• Our program includes courses in large and small ensemble music making (I.e.: Concert Band, Concert Choir, String Orchestra, Chamber Music), history and culture, theory, composition and electronic music

• There is no audition required to register for the UTSC Music and Culture program

Program of Study

For more information on the program of study, including program requirements and course descriptions, please see the Registrar’s Calendar.

To apply

To find this program on the OUAC website, search under University of Toronto Scarborough (found under the University of Toronto entry) under the category "Visual and Performing Arts, Arts Management & Media" (program code TUC); you will then be able to choose this program under the 'Subject of Major Interest' drop-down menu.

Contact

Should you have any questions regarding the Music & Culture program at the University of Toronto Scarborough, please send us an email.

Faculty

William R. Bowen | Associate Professor 
bowen@utsc.utoronto.ca | 416 208 5116 | HW 409A

Kenneth McLeod | Associate Professor
mcleod@utsc.utoronto.ca | 416 287 7175 | AA 327

Alexander Rapoport | Associate Professor, Teaching Stream
alexander.rapoport@utoronto.ca | 416 287 7175 | AA 327

Annette Sanger | Lecturer
sanger@utsc.utoronto.ca | 416 287 7194 | AA 326

Alan Stanbridge | Associate Professor
stanbridge@utsc.utoronto.ca | 416 287 7132 | AA 338

Lynn Tucker | Associate Professor, Teaching Stream and Program Director
tucker@utsc.utoronto.ca | 416 287 7118 | AA 322

Lenard Whiting | Lecturer
lwhiting@utsc.utoronto.ca | 416 287 7179 | AA 320

Retired Faculty:

John Mayo | Associate Professor
mayo@utsc.utoronto.ca | 416 287 7191 | AA 335