Media, Journalism and Digital Cultures

Media and Journalism present to us much of what we know about the world. Some argue that we live as much through media as we live in media. Learn how they work from multiple perspectives, from the public to the private, on both local and global scales. Learn the connections and the dynamics in the context of today’s rapidly changing media landscape and to critically evaluate the constraints and opportunities offered by modern media institutions and information technologies.

Program of Study

For more information on the program of study, including program requirements and course descriptions, please see the Registrar’s Calendar.

To apply

To find this program on the OUAC website, search under University of Toronto Scarborough (found under the University of Toronto entry) under the category "Visual and Performing Arts, Arts Management & Media" (program code TUC); you will then choose 'Media' under the 'Subject of Major Interest' drop-down menu. When you are studying at UTSC, you will be able to choose the stream within the program that is your area of interest.

Contact

Should you have any questions regarding the Media Studies program at the University of Toronto Scarborough, please send us an email.

Faculty

Ruoyun Bai | Associate Professor and Program Director, Media Studies
rbai@utsc.utoronto.ca | 416 287 7134 | HW 415

Kenzie Burchell | Assistant Professor and Program Director, Journalism
kburchell@utsc.utoronto.ca | HW 416

T.L. Cowan | Assistant Professor
tl.cowan@utoronto.ca | 416 208 5061 | HW 411A

Leslie Chan | Associate Professor, Teaching Stream
chan@utsc.utoronto.ca | 416 287 7511 | MW 304

Jeffrey Dvorkin | Lecturer (on leave until June 30, 2018)
jeffrey.dvorkin@utoronto.ca | 416 287 7163 | HW 417

Minelle Mahtani | Associate Professor
mahtani@utsc.utoronto.ca | 416 287 7302 | MW 370

David Nieborg | Assistant Professor
david.nieborg@utoronto.ca | 416 287 7171 | HW 412

Alejandro Paz | Assistant Professor
alejandro.paz@utoronto.ca | 416 208 2

Michael Petit | Associate Professor, Teaching Stream
mepetit@utsc.utoronto.ca | 416 287 7164 | HW 414

Sherry Yu | Assistant Professor
sherrys.yu@utoronto.ca | HW 411