• Ph.D (McGill) Atmospheric and Oceanic Sciences
  • M.Sc (Toronto) Physics
  • B.Sc. (Waterloo) Physics

Academic Appointments

  • Professor
  • Vice-Dean, Graduate Education and Program Development (UTSC)
  • Faculty Governor – University of Toronto Governing Council
  • UTSC Campus Council Chair (St. George)
  • Chair, Election Committee of Governing Council
  • Co-chair Health and Safety (UTSC)
  • Adjunct Professor, Northwest University, Xi’an, Shaanxi, China


  • 1998 UTSC Faculty Teaching Award
  • 2002 UTSC Great Minds Campaign
  • 2004 SCSU Teaching Award
  • 2010 Canadian Association of Geographers Excellence in Teaching Award
  • 2011 Canadian Association of Geographers Ontario Division Service to Geography Award

Professional Affiliations

  • Canadian Association of Geographers
  • CAGONT Executive Committee
  • Director, Climate Change Centre for Research (C3R)