U of T Scarborough Graduate Student Research Award

The Graduate Student Research Award is a financial award open to all research-stream graduate students who are presently enrolled in the School of Graduate Studies, are supervised (or co-supervised) by University of Toronto Scarborough-based faculty, and who are currently identified on ROSI as affiliated with U of T Scarborough.

Download Guidelines in pdf

Download Guidelines in Word


The purpose of the award is to recognize the research activities of graduate students as well as their overall contribution to the University of Toronto Scarborough.


The award is intended for Masters students and for PhD students who are normally not in their final year of study at the time of application. The award is open to all research-stream graduate students currently enrolled in the School of Graduate Studies, supervised (or co-supervised) by U of T Scarborough-based faculty,  and currently identified on ROSI as affiliated with U of T Scarborough.

Application and procedure

Application for the award will be made by the graduate student and will consist of the following:

  • Personal data: name, U of T Scarborough department, current program (Master's or doctoral) including the start date, U of T graduate department, and past degrees (include institution(s) and dates)
  • Annotated list of research contributions (research contributions include publications, presentations, intellectual property, data collections, etc.). Include full references with authors, title, journal and volume/book chapter, page numbers and year with a description of each item that briefly outlines the main finding of the research contribution and your role in it
  • 1 page (maximum) description of graduate student research project and/or summary of accomplishments - write up your research project in clear, non-specialist language such that a general scholarly audience can understand the research, and also give the wide implications of your project;
  • List of extracurricular activities that are directly related to U of T Scarborough
  • Signed reference letter on department letterhead from a U of T Scarborough faculty member familiar with the applicant's work that includes a statement as to the extent of the graduate student's involvement in the generation of his/her research contributions (e.g. conceptualization of research design, execution of research, data collection, interpretation of data, etc.)

Application deadline: March 1

Applications must be submitted electronically in PDF format to researchoffice@utsc.utoronto.ca. Reference letters in PDF format may be submitted directly by the faculty member. For questions, please contact Kristine Peruzzi

Nature and conditions of the award

When deemed appropriate, up to 2 cash awards of $1,000 will be given out annually, one each for a masters and a doctoral student, but two in a single category are permitted. It is not intended that the award be included as part of the recipient's minimum income (funding package) as specified by the university and the relevant graduate department.

Selection criteria

The award will be made on the basis of the following criteria:

  • quality of the project and/or research accomplishments
  • applicant's research track record and research potential; and other examples of leadership

Selection committee

The Selection Committee shall consist of U of T Scarborough Research Advisory Board members and the Vice-Principal Research who will act as Committee Chair.

Tahira Gulamani - Master's Level (2019)



Joao Pedro Fontenelle de Araujo Freire - Doctoral Level (2019)




Graduate Student Research Award Past Recipients



Jacob Koudy

Sathesan Thavabalasingam



Sonya Dhillon

David McLaglan


Devrim Coskun

Dean Carcone


Achala H. Rodrigo

Gregory E. Williams


Hussain Masoom

Nadian Al-Dajani


He Song Sun


Chris Chen

Dean Koucoulas

John N. Westgate


Kristen Brouchu

Norman Lee


Ada Le

Noushin Nabavi

Jeffrey Stolz


Marial Modanu

Edward Eng


Sarah MacKay

Jeffrey Stoltz


Catherine Febria

Buuan Lam


Norman Lee

Michael Ksumovic


Ara Sithamparanathan

Kevin Wilson


Quinn Fletcher

Allison McDonald


Patrick A. Guerra

P. Dwight Tapp


Jennifer Johnson

Thomas Spalek


Nicole Januszczak

Andrea Mothe


Cornia Burnell

Lori Manzon


Nicole Januszczak


Stacie Burke

Richard Manzon


Joseph Boyce

Penny MacDonald


Liz Head

Paul Murphy