City Governance

Professor Ahmed Allahwala teaching a class

The City Governance area of concentration addresses the politics and administration of cities and metropolitan regions, including how local government works, civic engagement, intergovernmental relations, and public finance. Core faculty members contributing to this area include:
•    Ahmed Allahwala
•    Zachary Hyde

Note: The City Studies curriculum has three areas of concentration: City-Building, Community Development, and City Governance. This program requires a total of 7.0 full credits within the broader 20 credit requirement for a UTSC degree. Students can select courses across all three areas of focus to complete the program requirements.

City Governance Courses

  • CITB04H3 City Politics
  • CITC12H3 City Structures and City Choices: Local Government, Management, and Policymaking
  • CITC15H3 Taxing and Spending: Public Finance in Canadian Cities
  • CITC16H3 Planning and Governing the Metropolis
  • CITC17H3 Civic Engagement in Urban Politics

View Calendar